ONOME AKENI

The small lady with the big voice,Gospel Asa,amongst others are names she has been called by fans.Do those names really capture all she is?hmmm…not quite.

She is more than a pretty face,or a lady with a beautiful voice, she is a wonderful person,a very down-to earth somebori,a good leader,an amazing team player,a boss who cares about the welfare of her subordinates,she has a great sense of humor and is fun to be with,plus she can mummy you sha.She’s got a great sense of style,her fashion sense ehn,na to tiff her wardrobe o….don’t tell her I said so sha.She is one person I really do admire and respect…..

I could write an entire book on her but let me stop here and let you get to know her a little.

 

Onome Akeni,is a PortHarcourt based singer,music minister and songwriter,who grew up in Lagos State and the fourth of five children.She hails from Delta state and is Isoko by tribe.She studied petrochemical Engineering at Rivers State University and as been doing music professionally for seven years now.She loves to watch movies when she isn’t singing.She has performed alongside Tim Godfrey, Timi Dakolo, Freke Umoh, Najite, Beekay and other notable gospel singers on various stages across Nigeria.She has released two beautiful,awesome,and inspiring singles,Ololufe and Lese which featured Najite,that have been a blessing to many.

 

When asked why she released two singles in Yoruba language,she says that Yoruba language is one language that is very expressive in worship God,the depth in the meaning of names of God like Agbanilagbatan(one who saves to the uttermost) for instance is one of such expressions.Her song Ololufe expresses her undying love for God and both songs were birthed from her experiences in life and how God has been there for her all the way,more than any human can ever be.Ololufe means “the one I love” and Lese means “can do”.

Ololufe was released in November 2015 and Lese was released this month.Both songs have gained a lot of airplay on various radio stations in Nigeria.Below are the lyrics to the two songs and links to download them.Listen to this beautiful songs and drop your comments on them too also do well to share with others too.


Verse 1
I glanced at the wonders of the night sky
In the chill of the evening and your warm embrace
Your sweet voice whispering in my ears
You put a smile on my face

Have never felt this way before

Pre-chorus
Ayanfe mi o
You’re my love
Ayanfe mi o
You’re my love
I have searched through all eternity no one
You re all I’d ever love and all I want

Chorus :
OLOLUFE IWONIKAN NI MO NIFE
NINU AYE MI, TITI LIALIA

Verse 2
I strayed away yet ur love didn’t change
Your feelings still remain, who am I to deserveyou

Pre-chorus
Ayanfe mi o
You’re my love
Ayanfe mi o
You’re my love
I have searched through all eternity no one
You re all I’d ever love and all I want

Chorus :
OLOLUFE IWONIKAN NI MO NIFE
NINU AYE MI, TITI LIALIA

Bridge
Kini molese without you God.

http://www.xpresslymusicng.com/2017/04/ololufe-onome-akeni-prod-dbf.html?spref=tw

Made the heavens and the earth with his spoken words

When darkness was everywhere, yea you gave the light

Placed the stars in the sky , yes you knew their names

Jesus , Saviour, lover of my soul.
Pre chorus

Alewilese gbanigbani Saya
Chorus

Kilo lese

Kilo lese olo run mi
My God and king, that’s who you are

You raised me up with your mighty hands

Am amazed at your words and how you show me love

Jesus, Saviour, lover of my soul
Pre chorus

Alewilese gbanigbani Saya
Chorus

Kilo lese

Kilo lese olo run mi
Bridge

http://www.xpresslymusicng.com/2017/05/onome-akeni-lese-ft-najite-prod-essence.html?spref=tw

Posted in Uncategorized

8 thoughts on “ONOME AKENI

    1. Bawo,
      This is a nice piece you’ve put up here.
      Looking forward to reading more enlightening and instructive articles like this one .
      And yes, I totally agree with celebrating people who are doing their best to burnish & sharpen their gifts for the good of man kind.
      In this regard, Onome is sure doing her bit.
      #IcelebrateOnome

      Like

Leave a Reply

